The Legend of Zelda: Link's Awakening

The Legend of Zelda: Link's Awakening

The Legend of Zelda: Link's Awakening is the first title in the series to be released on a handheld system, and the only Zelda title on the original Game Boy. The gameplay is very similar to its predecessor with the top-down perspective, although there are short sections in dungeons where the game switches to a side-scrolling view with platforming elements. In this new adventure, Link must visit each of the 7 temples to find a musical instrument with which he can awaken the Wind Fish. On his way, he'll have to search the land and find hidden treasures and items that will take him further on his journey. Since its release, Link's Awakening has been very popular among fans and critics.


After the events of A Link to the Past, the hero Link travels by ship to other lands to train for more threats. A storm destroys his ship at sea and he is washed ashore on the island of Koholint, where he is taken to Tarin's house by his daughter Marin. She is fascinated by Link and the world outside, and wistfully tells Link that if she were a seagull, she would travel across the sea. After Link gets his sword back, a mysterious owl tells him that he must wake the Wind Fish, the guardian of Koholint, to return home. The Wind Fish lies dreaming in a giant egg on top of Mount Tamaranch and can only be awakened by the eight instruments of the Sirens. Link explores a series of dungeons to find the eight instruments. In search of the sixth instrument, Link heads to the Ancient Ruins. There he finds a mural that enlightens him about the reality of the island: that it is only a dream world created by the Wind Fish. After this revelation, the owl tells Link that this is just a rumor and only the Wind Fish knows for sure if it is true. All over Koholint Island, nightmare creatures are trying to hinder Link in his search for the instruments, because they want to control the Wind Fish's dream world. After collecting all eight instruments in the eight dungeons of Koholint, Link climbs to the top of Mount Tamaranch and plays the Ballad of the Wind Fish. This breaks open the egg in which the Wind Fish sleeps; Link enters and confronts the final evil entity, a nightmare that takes the form of Ganon and other enemies from Link's past.[24] His final transformation is "DethI," a Cyclopean shadow with two tentacles. After Link defeats DethI, the owl turns out to be the Wind Fish's spirit, and the Wind Fish confirms that Koholint is only his dream. When Link plays the Ballad of the Wind Fish again, he and the Wind Fish awaken; Koholint Island and all its inhabitants slowly disappear. Link finds himself on the driftwood of his ship in the middle of the ocean, while the wind fish flies above him. If the player has not lost any lives during the game, Marin can be seen flying after the credits.


1 / 1
  • Hammerberti
     44*** Herne
  • Horrorkid88
     73*** Aalen
  • Icefire36
     40*** Düsseldorf
  • GamerFux
     76*** Kronau
  • Yukisai
     03*** Cottbus
  • W00dy
     82** Beggingen
  • luholmes
     36*** Fulda
  • KingLenny
     68*** Mannheim
1 / 1