Baldur's Gate

Baldur's Gate

Baldur's Gate is a fantasy role-playing game developed by BioWare and published by Interplay Entertainment in 1998. It is the first game in the Baldur's Gate series and is set in the Forgotten Realms, a high-fantasy campaign setting that uses a modified version of the Advanced Dungeons & Dragons (AD&D) 2nd Edition rules. It was the first game to use the Infinity Engine for graphics. Interplay also used the engine for other Forgotten Realms licensed games, including the Icewind Dale series, as well as other licensed D&D campaign worlds such as Planescape: Torment. The game's story focuses on players controlling a protagonist of their own creation who, along with a group of companions, travels through the Sword Coast to unravel the mystery surrounding a sudden iron crisis in the region and find the culprits behind it.


Candlekeep is an ancient fortress on the rural Sword Coast. Recently, inexplicable events have haunted this quiet place, which has long since become a great library where men of wisdom and knowledge can study in peace. Unknown mercenaries try to penetrate the walls of Candlekeep and take an interest in a seemingly ordinary and insignificant young person - an orphan taken in by the mage Gorion and treated by him as his own child. One night Gorion decides to leave Candlekeep and take his adopted child to a safe place. As they leave the fortress, however, they are ambushed by a group of assassins. The orphan manages to escape, but Gorion dies in the fight. The gates of Candlekeep are locked, for the inhabitants are afraid of incurring the wrath of the mysterious attackers. Only Imoen, another child raised by Gorion and like a sister to the protagonist, is willing to share the uncertain future. The two have nothing, no place to call home, only a vast hostile world ahead of them. There begins a long and perilous journey. Baldur's Gate is a role-playing game that uses the Advanced Dungeons & Dragons (AD&D) rulebook. The game is set in the Forgotten Realms universe and is the first part of the saga, where the player can explore different cities, wilderness areas and dungeons, complete many side quests and find companions for the long journey. The player creates the hero(s) by choosing their class: Fighter, Thief, Mage, Priest, Ranger and Druid (including subclasses, dual and multiclass characters), alignment (Good-Evil and Law-Chaotic axis) and weapon skills. The AD&D 2nd Edition rules are applied in-game in combat, level advancement, class restrictions, etc. Up to six player-controlled characters can participate in a battle. Combat takes place in the same environment as exploration and runs in real time. However, the player can interrupt the battle at any time to issue precise commands to one of the characters. Once the game is no longer interrupted, the characters repeat the last action selected by the player until it is changed or can no longer be performed. Characters can move freely during battles; grouping and positioning in combat play an important role.


1 / 1
  • Arestius
     53*** Alfter
  • Belderon
     55*** Bad Kreuznach
  • SteveNRW1982
     42*** Wülfrath
  • JupJupJaJa
     30*** Hannover
  • Aradulf
     89*** Giengen an der Brenz
  • BloodRaven40k
     16*** Rheinsberg Kagar
  • loucee
     44*** Bochum
  • Nocturne
     66*** Blieskastel
1 / 1